Ross Poldark

Ross Poldark by Winston Graham

Ross Poldark was first published in 1945 and is the first book of twelve in Winston Graham’s Poldark series.

Set in Cornwall 1783, post serving in the American War of Independence, Ross Poldark returns to his land and family. But the joyful homecoming he has anticipated turns sour, for his father is dead, his estate is derelict and the girl he loves is engaged to his cousin.

But his sympathy for the destitute miners and farmers of the district leads him to rescue a half-starved urchin girl from a fairground brawl and take her home – an act which alters the whole course of his life…

Available at:

Winston Graham at his desk

Winston Graham

Winston Graham, born Winston Grime in 1908, moved to Perranporth on the coast of South West Cornwall, where he lived for thirty-four years.